Sesame Peanut Pasta Salad – Yum!

8 Jun

I’ve always said I’m a food enthusiast and a lover of all desserts…. but I realized I have yet to start posting my recipes or concoctions I’ve been making lately… I just get so caught up in making the food and trying it right after that….I always forget to take photos before I start eating away.

So this past week I tried a new recipe I found online…. it’s a combination of sesame peanut salad and a pasta salad I found. It turned out a lot better than I originally anticipated and adds a little summery fun to the dish.

katherineklau_peanutpastasalad1

Ingredients:

Pasta:

1 package of pasta (I used Orzo and rings for a “bite size” approach)

1/2 cup of vegetable oil

1 medium carrot, cut into 1 inch matchstick pieces

Fresh bundle of asparagus

Salt and pepper to flavor of your liking

1/2 cup of chopped peanuts (garnish)

Cilantro (garnish)

Sesame (garnish)

 

Lightly tossed romane salad:

1 Lettuce head

1 medium yellow bell pepper

1 Box of cherry tomatoes, cut in halves

Light Thousand Island Dressing

 

Peanut Sauce:

1/4 cup light soy sauce

1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter

1/2 cup of warm water

2 tablespoons of rice vinegar

2 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon chopped minced garlic

2 teaspoon sweet chili sauce (optional)

 

 

 

How to Make it:

Salad:

1. Chop lettuce, depending on how diced you want your lettuce- I made mine look like chopped salad….

2. Cut yellow bell peppers to strips

3. Lightly add in thousand island and toss all together

4. Place salad at the bottom of the plate

 

Pasta:

1. Prepare pasta according to package directions- run under cold water after boil

2. Cut asparagus to 1 inch in length and the carrot to 1 inch match-like pieces.

3. Lightly toss on a pan to cook for 8-10 minutes with a teaspoon of virgin oil and salt & pepper for flavor.

4. Once the veggies are cooked, toss them into the pasta with a “splash” of virgin oil so the pasta doesn’t stick to each other… use your discretion of how much oil to put in

5. Plate the pasta on top of the salad that’s already on your plate… and now comes the sauce!!

 

Peanut Sauce:

1. Microwave the peanut butter so it’s in a liquid format

2. Mix in the soysauce, water, vinegar, honey and garlic until it’s the right consistency you would like. I wanted my dressing more liquidy so the salad wasn’t so thick so I played around with the ratio of water and honey to make it thinner. If you want it thicker- the recipe above should give you a pretty consistent and thick dressing.

3. Put as much of the dressing you’d like on top of the pasta, garnish with sesame, crushed peanuts and cilantro.

4. You can choose to stir it up or just eat as is. Enjoy!

 

peanut pasta 2

 

peanut pasta 3

What do you guys think? Have you tried a similar recipe before?
SimplistiCreations

Leave a Reply

