Just My Type: A Note on Typography

17 Jul

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but it’s been a crazy two weeks at work recently. I’ve been caught up doing a lot of SEO work for clients and documenting everything… and I’m starting to feel like I’m no longer a designer and feeling a bit “stale” (if that’s possible), since I haven’t actually designed anything in a while. In hopes to “re-spark” my passion for design, I started looking through other sites for inspiration (of course, Pinterest is one of my favorites… go figure) and I started noticing a lot of wedding invite designs on my news feed.

I’ve always wanted to explore the field of lettering and typography, especially in the wedding and party planning industry; after making my coworker’s wedding gift last week, I’m still very inspired by the limitless opportunities for creativity with wedding designs. There is just something super exciting about seeing different embossed invitations on quality stock paper or seeing beautifully typography used!! I realize not everyone shares this passion… and I sound extremely designer nerdy when I’m talking about type or paper. But there’s nothing better than being extremely passionate about what you do right?!

After geeking out and being truly inspired from the websites, I decided next week I’m going to challenge myself to design different quotes with an emphasis on using different typography. But before I jump to that, I wanted to share a few useful resources I’ve been checking out for those who are also exploring lettering and typography.

Here are some sites I found useful when trying to understand typography and lettering a little better:

http://www.creativebloq.com/graphic-design-tips/typography-tutorials-1232719

http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/05/06/50-helpful-typography-tools-and-resources/

http://www.typographydeconstructed.com

http://www.myfonts.com/WhatTheFont/

 

And here are some games that help you learn more about typography!

http://www.tothepoint.co.uk/more/fun/shoot_the_serif/

http://fontgame.ilovetypography.com

http://ft.vremenno.net/en/

The sites I find most useful and practical in my case were the articles specifically discussing how to combine different typefaces and understanding when to use what typeface or how to choose a font. The biggest thing I struggle with when it comes to typography is understand how to mix and match two different types of typography together and still make it look captivating to the eyes. So next week’s typography project will definitely be very interesting and a good learning experience! I definitely think it’s important to be constantly inspired, especially as a designer, in order to keep your passion for what you do alive.

Additional sites for more type inspiration: (click on the image to be redirected to their site!)

1) Pressing Letter Logo

 

 

2) Love vs Design logo

 

 

3)Burnette's logo

 

 

4)Type inspire screenshot

 

 

5) We Love Typography screenshot

So what do you guys think? Were these resources helpful? Am I the only one that gets excited talking about quality stock paper and elegant typography? Stay tuned to see my upcoming typography projects!! Until next time!
SimplistiCreations

Leave a Reply

