Parchment Salmon with Lemon & Basil

27 Aug

I tried a new cooking technique a few days ago…. working with parchment paper. I love salmon of all types, especially smoked or in sushi, but I feel like every time I bake it or steam it, I always end up overcooking it. So I did some research on best methods to cook salmon and I found out parchment paper is more commonly used than I thought, so I gave it a shot! I found this awesome recipe online and really just put everything inside a parchment pouch and it cooked perfectly! It was soooo delicious!

Salmon Recipe 1

Salmon Recipe 2

Salmon Recipe 3

Salmon Recipe 4

->> Ingredients <<-

  • 1 (6 ounce) salmon fillets
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • parchment paper big enough to make a pouch
  • 1/4 cup chopped basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 lemons, thinly sliced
  • Vegetables (I had sliced carrots, tiny potatoes and asparagus)

->> Instructions <<-

1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.

2. Dice up the asparagus and tiny potatoes to bite sizes. I cut up the veggies first since it takes a longer time to cook the veggies in comparison to the salmon. This way both the dishes will be done at the same time and I could avoid having the fish get cold.

3. I made a pouch for the salmon by cutting a piece of parchment paper a little bigger than the piece of fish. Then I cut out a duplicate size of parchment paper for the top. Place the parchment paper on top of a cookie sheet for easy transport into the oven.

4. I then seasoned the salmon with salt, pepper and basil. Then I added the virgin oil onto the salmon and topped it with two thin slices of lemon.  Once the fish is fully seasoned, I used the duplicate size of parchment to put on top and folded the edges over to “lock” in the fish into the pouch.

5. I used the same parchment pouch method for the veggies to make sure the heat is kept inside the pouch to cook the food faster. I seasoned the veggies with virgin oil, rosemary, basil and salt and pepper. ( I didn’t exactly measure this portion- since different people like to season their veggies differently. I personally love pepper so I put a lot of pepper into mine).

6. Once the oven is done pre-heating, I placed both trays into the oven and allowed the fish to cook for 20 minutes. The veggies took a little longer so I kept it in the oven for 30 minutes total.

Overall, I decided that I love cooking with parchment paper! The fish came out perfect and it wasn’t overcooked or undercooked and it was delicious! I can’t wait to find more parchment paper recipes! What do you guys think? What have you tried cooking with parchment paper before?

SimplistiCreations

2 Responses to “Parchment Salmon with Lemon & Basil”

  1. Miss Angie August 29, 2013 at 2:46 PM #

    That looks so good! YUM! I’m pinning this to try it sometime!

    • Kat Lau August 29, 2013 at 4:05 PM #

      Haha It was really delicious! I can’t wait to try other recipes with parchment paper!

Leave a Reply

