Latest Updates

3 May

Hey you guys!
I’m so sry that I haven’t been keeping up to date with blogging. I’ve been crazy busy at work lately, studying for an exam. It’s the CUA (Certified Usability Analyst) from HFI (Human Factors International) exam. In short, what it really means is now I’m a more credible UX (User Experience) web designer. User experience gives us insight on understand the user’s perspectives , emotions, beliefs preferences, perceptions, physical and psychological responses, behaviors and accomplishments that occur before, during and after use of a product, system or service. By understanding how user’s interact, you can further cater and design for better usability. For more articles that explains more about UX, refer to this post.

If you work daily within the UX/ web design field, a lot of the notes from the courses are concepts you’re familiar with, but it was still a nice and educational experience! There were two ways you could do this, either take the course HFI offers and then take the exam, or take the exam. I chose to do the latter since I had a friend who has all the notes from the courses.

HFI - CUA Logo

Study Mode: Notes on notes on notes

The good news is, I passed with flying colors! (95%)  =] It was definitely a lot harder and longer than I expected.

So I wanted to share some of my thoughts on the exam for those who are interested in pursuing the field of UX.

1. Definitely take advantage of your notes and the four books they provide you from the courses… It’s an open book exam. Why wouldn’t use it to your advantage?

2. It’s helpful to jot down an overview of each book so you can make a quick reference to them during the exam. I typed up all my notes so I could command + F it to find it quickly.

3. The exam ended up being fairly long. It was a 2.5 hour exam… So I would definitely recommend using the bathroom beforehand, since you can’t pause the exam.

4. Some of the questions were worded differently, so I had to read it a few times before understanding what they were asking me. But definitely take advantage of the flag button at the bottom, so you remember to come back to it.

Overall, I’m glad the exam was over and it was a very educational experience. It was cool to see some of the things I do on a day to day basis with a more technical term. But boy am I glad to not be studying anymore! For those who are in preparation for the exam, my only advice to you is definitely prepare good notes that you can refer to!

Some useful resources:

White papers 

Community to ask questions

Study Aids

On a different note, I also updated my online portfolio to include a few recent things I’ve done. I couldn’t upload all of them, since some of the sites aren’t live yet. But check out the latest Tommy Bartlett’s website! Click on the image below and it’s located at the bottom of the page!

Tommy_homepagesplash

 

Got a few more projects to upload onto the portfolio- but have to wait until it’s live first. But stay tuned!

SimplistiCreations

Leave a Reply

